Pancakes for Bram

Wednesday the 20th of April is the 104th Deathiversary of Bram Stoker, author of Dracula.

Every year I commemorate his birthday and death day.
Last year I went to the newly resurrected pancake restaurant appropriately named Stokers.
This year I decided to make my own pancakes in honour of Bram.

IMG_2010

Pancakes are filled with mythological and folkloric meanings. They are most commonly associated with Shrove Tuesday and Lent. Their circular shape associates them with the sun and they are often eaten at the end of winter to welcome the coming spring. They are symbols of the beginning and the end of life. I remember eating pancakes at funerals and I remember new mothers being given pancakes after childbirth. With their links to life, death and the sun, pancakes are the perfect food to honour an author whose greatest character was deeply connected to life, death and the sun.

The pancakes below are unusual as they are leavened with yeast. Yeasted pancakes are common in Eastern Europe, especially in Transylvania! They can be eaten with savoury or sweet fillings. I have chosen a classic combination of strawberry jam and cream, not only because I love the flavours, but because the colour combination has a vampiric feel for me – perfect for Mr Stoker.

Yeasted Pancakes

IMG_2030

Ingredients
2 cups flour
2 cups lukewarm milk
1 egg, beaten
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon dried yeast
extra olive oil for frying

for serving
strawberry jam
cream

Instructions
Add the flour to a large bowl.
Slowly stir in the milk.
Add the egg, butter and oil and mix until they form a smooth pancake batter.
Add the salt and yeast and stir until combined.
Cover with plastic wrap and allow to sit in a warm place for 1-3 hours or until doubled in size.
Heat a small amount of oil in a non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat.
Pour in approximately 1/4 cup of batter.
Cook for 3-4 minutes or until it starts to form bubbles.
Flip and cook for a further 2-3 minutes or until golden brown and cooked through.
Repeat with remaining batter.
Serve with jam and cream.

5 comments

  1. I find it hysterical, as in the amusing category, that I only learned some Christians enjoy pancakes just before the start of Lent, on what I know as Mardi Gras or Fat Tuesday a year ago. Despite the fact that in my family of origin, my mother took me to took me to church every Sunday from my birth, even though my father worked weekends and holidays for a public utility. The Wonderful Wonderful World of Wu and Panda People; all the things I’ve learned since joining it. You and a priest from the Commonwealth of Virginia and a Bunch of Episcopalian Annes & Anns have taught me much.

    vsomethingspeaks, it wasn’t until I read this piece that I became aware pancakes and the term shrove, which I shall immediately look up after this post, are associated with death as well.
    However, pancakes are my favorite breakfast , food. My mother sometines served them as a evening meal, from scratch, because she did not have time for the kitchen clean-up in the mornings once she returned to the workforce outside the home? In America, pancakes are often served too with heavy and sickly sweet: with great amounts of fake dairy and artificial sweet. I find this this to be an abomination. I do enjoy a small bit of really good butter and real maple syrup, but it can easily led to to a fried and candied meal.

    I love your alternative. I also love pancakes for the evening meal. These would not be too heavy, especially for a Winter meal in the States, although I’m not sure about your weather in Victoria. The red would work for children for Valentine’s Day or near the Christmas holidays as as well, with your lovely coffee drink With With for the adults for afters. For me, and sometimes in the US, pancakes are served with a protein or savory; maybe ham, sausage, egg or perhaps potatoes. My favorite would be bacon, served lean and “clean” with less chemicals. I need my protein vss, do you have any suggestions so I might add some Australia to my meal?

    So what sort of Christian from Washington State might not know about strove and Lent and stuff? Even one who regularly attended her familyou chichi through college, and many other churches until marriage at the advanced age of nearly twenty-eight, and whose college foreign language was Hebrew? Someone who identifies as American Baptist. Very liberal, we believe in aFulton baptism, you can’t be born a Christian. It is an adumt conscious decision, not a mom is so I am by birth or baby must be sprinkled or will go to HellO thing. It is a Grace and Cross thing, and God Love thing and people are not doomed to HellO thing.

    Or maybe I just didn’t pay attention. But, I think not.
    Much love to you vss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the lovely response!
      I’ve always associated pancakes with Christianity and was surprised they have Pagan origins as symbols of the Sun. I must have missed that class in Witch School 🙂
      I eat pancakes at any time of the day! I love them sweet or savoury. For a real Aussie pancake I smear them with a bit of butter and vegemite. But you can’t beat the classic – bacon and pure maple syrup. Yum!
      Much love, pancakes and cuppycakes to you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

