A Very Pious Meal

I’d love to say that I came up with the idea for my recipe Scripture Bread with Selected Verses all on my own, but I didn’t!

A few weeks ago, I posted my recipe for Tapioca Surprise. I had a few comments and a few likes. I try to visit the people who have kindly visited my blog and as part of that process I came across the frugal feeding blog. When I saw the post about Scripture Cake I got so excited! I couldn’t wait to do more research 🙂

What I discovered were variations of a fruitcake that used biblical references for the ingredients. One recipe even used a bible quote for the instructions saying follow Solomon’s advice in Proverbs 23:14 for making good boys, which is “Thou shalt beat him with the rod, and shalt deliver his soul from hell.” Okay, so I assume I have to beat all the ingredients together. Very clever 🙂

No-one is sure of the origins of Scripture Cake but it does appear to have been a clever way of showing knowledge of the bible in the form of a fun trivia game! You would be given the recipe and then try and guess what the ingredients were. A King James version of the bible was the standard text. To make sure accidents didn’t happen, a standard version of the recipe was also given, but only after the guessing game ended 🙂

I loved this idea, but didn’t want to do a fruitcake. So I thought instead I would make up a platter of tasty treats that would complement each other and utilise the many foods mentioned in the bible. Not knowing the bible that well, I found an online King James bible and started searching for ingredients. I knew I wanted to make a flatbread, so I typed in “flour” and chose the best verse. I soon discovered that some verses mentioned a few foods in the one verse. Being slightly obsessive, I didn’t want to use those verses, so I had to find an entertaining verse that mentioned only the ingredient I wanted. This limited my choice, but I loved the challenge. I spent quite a few fun hours crafting recipes and searching the bible.

So here is my contribution to the world of scripture recipes:

Scripture Bread with Selected Verses

IMG_8944c

Biblical flatbreads served with marinated feta, olive tapenade and fig compote. You’ll need a King James version of the Bible to work out the ingredients – or you can just go to the list of ingredients at the end!

Special Equipment
3 cup size jar with lid

Biblical Ingredients
for the marinated feta
200g cubed feta 1 Samuel 17:18
1-2 sprigs of fresh Deuteronomy 11:10
1/2 teaspoon ground Numbers 11:7
1 teaspoon Matthew 13:31
3 tablespoons white wine Matthew 27:48
1 + 1/2 cup Exodus 27:20

for the olive tapenade
200g pitted kalamata 1 Kings 6:23
4 fillets John 21:10
2 tablespoons Exodus 27:20

for the fig compote
200g dried Nahum 3:12
1 peeled, cored and diced cooking Proverbs 25:11
1 teaspoon of mixed 2 Chronicles 9:9
1 tablespoon flaked or slivered Numbers 17:8
1 tablespoon Psalms 119:103
1 + 1/4 cup white John 2:10

For the scripture bread
2 cups sifted Leviticus 24:5
1 teaspoon sea 2 Kings 2:20
1/4 cup Exodus 27:20
1/3 cup Genesis 24:17

Method
To make the marinated feta:
Place all the ingredients in a glass jar, making sure everything is completely covered in liquid. Secure the lid tightly and refrigerate for 2 days, occasionally giving the jar a good shake.

To make the tapenade:
Process or blend the tapenade ingredients together until smooth. Cover and refrigerate until needed.

To make the compote:
Bring all the ingredients to a simmer in a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat. Cook for 30 – 35 minutes, stirring occasionally. Allow to cool before refrigerating until needed.

To make the bread:
Combine all the ingredients in a medium-sized bowl. The dough should be slightly sticky.

Turn dough onto a lightly floured work surface and knead for 5 – 10 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Divide dough into 4 balls. Roll each ball into the flattest circle you can.

Heat an ungreased frying pan or griddle over medium heat. Fry each circle for 1 minute each side or until light brown.

Culinary notes:
If the oil in the marinated feta solidifies, remove from the refrigerator at least 1/2 an hour before serving to allow the oil to return to a liquid state.

When making the dough for the flatbreads, you may need to add more water or more flour to form a slightly sticky dough.

And for those of you without a bible here is the list of non-biblical ingredients 🙂

for the marinated feta
200g cubed feta cheese
1-2 sprigs of fresh rosemary and oregano
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander seeds
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 + 1/2 cup olive oil

for the olive tapenade
200g pitted kalamata olives
4 anchovy fillets
2 tablespoons olive oil

for the fig compote
200g dried figs
1 cooking apple, peeled, cored and diced
1 teaspoon of mixed spice
1 tablespoon flaked or slivered almonds
1 tablespoon honey
1 + 1/4 cup white wine

For the scripture bread
2 cups sifted flour
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup water

4 comments

  1. You are killing me. This is exactly the sort of thing I would love to eat. A perfect feast for two on Christmas Day. How will I stick to my diet until January first. Will it go well with a Vodka Martini dirty? I can only hope everyone diets come January 2015. I am losing willpower and this is most delicious looking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does look delicious – and tastes it too.
      It would go really well with a dirty martini. I had mine with cucumber gin.
      You can hang in for one more week! You’ve done so well, don’t let some bread and cheese destroy your hard work 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The scripture cake looks very very yummy and the idea of playing a game to guess the ingredients sounds fabulous. Another great piece of information you have shared look forward to more of you wonderful writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

